My favorite recipe for excess starter

When you have an active sourdough starter you will be feeding and discarding a fair amount of it. While I love to make new things with my starter, let us face it, I often do not want to start a whole new recipe with multiple steps with strict time consideration, etc. Sometimes I just want to make something that takes no time at all. Here is my favorite.

This is a simple savory starter fry. It is similar to a pancake but there is no sugar. The only ingredients are flour and water.  In fact, you are dumping some of your starter directly into a hot pan. Yep, it is that easy.

Heat a cast iron skillet or a nonstick pan over medium / medium high heat. You want the mixture to sizzle when it hits the pan.

Lately I have not added any extra liquid to the starter to thin it out before it hits the pan. I ladle in, maybe a 1/2 cup and do my beast to spread it out so it is not so thick. I will add butter or a little olive oil for flavor and to make sure it gets crispy.

When you first put it into the pan you can add scallions or seeds, nuts would be nice too.

Flip after 3-5 minutes or it looks browned to your liking and another 3-4 on the other side. Since the mixture has no added salt, either add some (after taking it out of your starter container), or do what I do and add a little hummus to the finished product.

