I just made a rookie mistake

I had to share this mental mistake. We all make them and it does not matter how long you have been in the kitchen, they will happen. I broke my own rule!

On Friday I made my standard two boules. All went well during fermentation and proofing. I popped the dough in the fridge to allow them to slowly rise for 12-36 hours. It is a wide time frame, I know, but at this stage this is the only time that you control the timing.  Some people like a short rise at room temperature for 3-4 hours, and some like the fridge.

I had noticed some oddities with my starter. It just wasn’t very active. This is unusual as normally the thing is a beast, easily doubling in size. I went ahead anyway and baked. The flavor is terrific but the bread didn’t rise. Well it did a little in the middle – it looks like a UFO.

What happened?

Well, I changed the starter ratio using volume instead of weight. Remember a cup of flour is a different weight than a cup of water. I made the simple mistake of removing one cup of flour and one cup of flour during the last feeding of the starter before baking. I through the water to flour ratio right out the window.

On one hand I am a little annoyed at myself for making the mistake yet I am also relieved that my starter is still fine. I fed it this morning and it should be good to go in a day or two.

